RSS

Process Of Creating An Oil Painting

08 Oct

Today, I would like to show you a step-by-step process of creating a painting in oil using the Alla Prima technique, which means you work wet-in-wet in one session.

This is the scene I set up, a simple still life of some sunflowers and pears in a bowl. I didn’t set it up in a box with a lamp as I wanted the natural sunlight on the table, but I would obviously eliminate all the things surrounding the objects in the painting itself. (I used a 12″ x 12″ canvas)

I loved the simplicity of these sunflowers and pears

I loved the simplicity of these sunflowers and pears

 Step 1:

Firstly, I painted a wash of yellow ochre thinned out with a little medium to cover the entire canvas and then I drew on the composition using thinned burnt umber with a small brush. (I sometimes use a bigger flat brush to draw on the design, depending on the subject matter and the size of the canvas, and I don’t always draw in all the detail at the onset, but I did in this case to better demonstrate the development in case you’re a beginner.)

I also altered the position of the sunflowers in the blue jug, to adapt the composition to a square format instead of a portrait one.

painting step 1

Step 2:

Next, I started loosely blocking in the background and the tablecloth, the bowl and the blue jug as well as the dark centres of the sunflowers. I also made some amendments to the initial drawing: I realised I had the blue glass rim too high and I decided to extend the tablecloth to the edge to simplify the composition.

Painting step 2

Step 3:

The next step was to start painting in the flowers, which I started doing, but decided I would change the background to cool tomes to contrast with the warm colours of the flowers. I darkened the shadow under the bowl.

Painting step 3

Step 4:

The pears were painted next, as well as details on the bowl and some darkening of the shadows in the bowl under the fruit and on the jug. I also applied some more depth to the flowers and leaves.

Painting step 4

Final Step:

After painting in the rim of the blue glass, I worked all over the canvas, tweaking and adding highlights, deepening shadows where needed.

So there you have it! This is the final painting after about eight hours of work. Unfortunately, one doesn’t see the brushstrokes and thickness of the paint as the camera isn’t good enough and flattens the images, but at least you get an idea of what to do if you’d like to try. Choose a simple set up of anything interesting lying around your home, give it a go and have fun!

Painting final

 
4 Comments

Posted by on October 8, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

4 responses to “Process Of Creating An Oil Painting

  1. Sans

    October 9, 2013 at 8:09 am

    No seriously! You make it look so easy! :)
    That background is not easy..deciding where & how to apply the paint..
    You can see your talent & expertise in this method & I think it’s wonderful!
    How about a night at my house? You can do a Alla prima & help me finish my “lion”? :)
    I will supply your canvas,food,drinks & transport? :)))

     
  2. karenlongden

    October 9, 2013 at 8:30 am

    Thank you Sans! I appreciate you thoughtful comments and I’m glad you like the painting! I would be happy to help you finish your lion too. We should definitely make a plan.

     
  3. Ncart Co

    October 15, 2013 at 2:48 pm

    Great post regarding the process of “how to create a oil painting“.using the Alla Prima techniques.

     
  4. karenlongden

    October 15, 2013 at 2:57 pm

    Thank you Ncart Co. I appreciate your kind comment.

     

Leave a Reply

 
