RSS

A Wonderful Film On Cross-racial Friendship

28 Jun

MV5BMTYxNDA3MDQwNl5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwNTU4Mzc1Nw@@._V1_SX214_I watched a French Movie last night, called “Intouchables”, and I am still reeling from its many messages! I found it powerful and moving.

Sometimes it’s great to have a break from everyday chores and the pressure of work and indulge in something different, and that’s why I am recommending this today!

The Intouchables is a 2011 French comedy-drama film directed by Olivier Nakache and Éric Toledano. It stars François Cluzet and Omar Sy, and although it is in French, there are English subtitles, which, because I speak French, are not translated precisely, but more to suit English speaking audiences, but that doesn’t change the story!

The film is based on a true story, where, after he becomes a quadriplegic from a paragliding accident, an aristocrat hires a young man from the projects to be his caretaker.

Like in “Driving Miss Daisy,” it’s about two people who normally would never have met but they develop a strong friendship and trust. It’s about human possibility, which is inspiring even though it is a comedy; fulfilled with some hilarious moments indeed.

Today I researched some reviews on the film, and I must say, they are not all as favourable as I expected, although the movie has been rated 4 stars overall, but I would certainly vote it highly.  I found the contrast of characters endearing and enlightening and although some American reviewers have called it corny, I don’t think it’s any more so than most films out today. It certainly made me feel good, and yet simultaneously moved by the powerful messages it contains.

The film has received several award nominations. In France, the film was nominated for eight César Awards and earned Omar Sy the César Award for Best Actor.


Get a copy of the video and watch it! Let me know what you thought!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on June 28, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , ,

One response to “A Wonderful Film On Cross-racial Friendship

  1. Monique

    June 28, 2013 at 8:11 am

    Yes! I also saw it – absolutely brilliant!!! Highly recommend this.

     

Leave a Reply

 
