RSS

Which Art Work Has Stopped You In Your Tracks?

06 Jul

Somebody asked me the question the other day, “has any piece of art overwhelmed you when you first saw it?” I wanted to answer “yes, hundreds,” but when they insisted on me choosing the most impressionable, I had to dig deep. It came to me quickly… the image etched in my brain sprang forth in all it’s glory!

“John Singer Sargent’s ‘Smoke of Ambergris’” I replied smiling.

It’s the mood and the colours I think. The painting exudes a sense of serenity, almost as intoxicating as the Ambergris smoke itself. She is so exotic in the North African setting and clothing. When I learned that Ambergris was believed to ward off evil spirits and also served as an aphrodisiac, the painting took on an even greater meaning. To me, Sargent’s work is brilliant.

I could post a blog every day for a year of all the paintings I love in the world, and maybe I shall, but I would love to hear which painting brought you to your knees when you first laid eyes on it and has stayed with you ever since?

And please tell me why. I look forward to hearing from you!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on July 6, 2012 in Memorable Paintings

 

Tags: , , , , ,

One response to “Which Art Work Has Stopped You In Your Tracks?

  1. Veronica Roth

    July 21, 2012 at 9:10 pm

    Hi Karen,
    I love that painting, and all of Sargent’s work. For me it’s absolutely impossible to choose an image like that. I remember last October standing in front of a Rubens in the National Gallery with tears streaming just from the sheer mastery and beauty of it. This happens a lot. (Never take me to an art gallery…lol) :)

     

Leave a Reply

 
